(0) Cart
  • No products in the basket.

Salsoul – Walter Gibbons Mastermixes

Love Vinyl » Salsoul – Walter Gibbons Mastermixes


Salsoul – Walter Gibbons Mastermixes


Product Description

Walter Gibbons, a true master of the mix, a disco legend, a pioneer of dance music. There’s literally very few who can lay claim to progressing the artform of studio mixing and technique than the late Gibbons. His contribution to contemporary music cannot be understated, first as a DJ where his drum laced experimentation captured the ears and minds of his peers and the dancers, then later as a mixer and studio genius where he continued on his quest. Often fixated on the percussion and breaks within records his versions would often dive into spaced out, dubby and stripped back territory that very few of his peers were even contemplating at that time, fervently reconstructing the tracks themselves and often the time, space and dancefloor within which the record was being played. A true original, Gibbons was behind many of the ‘definitive’ versions of the classics, his unique style often catapulting records that were just fine in their original form into brand new colourful, cosmic interpretations that flourished sonically and rhythmically with brand new sounds that bristled with vision.

Salsoul Records thought a well programmed and thought out retrospective of this legends output was in order and this incredible collection of tracks is where we find ourselves. A stellar compilation across 2 heavyweight slabs of wax featuring of some of Gibbons’ finest works. Included you’ll find genre defining cuts like his mixes of Double Exposure, Loleatta Holloway, Love Committee, First Choice and many more.

A truly essential package for the die-hard Disco aficionado or for those who are exploring this most important movement in dance music for the first time. Curated with the full input and backing of Salsoul Records and carefully selected to reflect the truly timeless nature of the music contained within. For listening, for dancing, for turning on a party!

Remastered by Optimum Mastering. Artwork & design by Million Dollar Disco. Fully authorised.

A1 – Double Exposure – Ten Percent (Walter Gibbons Disco Madness Mix) A2 – Luv U Madly Orchestra – Rocket Rock (Walter Gibbons 12″ Mix)

B1 – Loleatta Holloway – Catch Me On The Rebound (Walter Gibbons Disco Madness Mix) B2 – Loleatta Holloway – Hit and Run (Walter Gibbons 12 Mix)

C1 – Love Comittee – Where Will It End (Walter Gibbons 12″ Mix) C2 – Love Comittee – Just As Long As I Got You (Walter Gibbons 12″ Mix)

D1 – Cellophane – (Dance With Me) Let’s Believe (Walter Gibbons Disco 12″ Mix) D2 -First Choice – Let No Man Put Asunder (Walter Gibbons Disco Madness Mix)





Additional Information

Weight 0.749 kg
Dimensions 31 x 31 x 1 cm
Love Vinyl